Skip to Content

2014 Industry Awards

2014 Thoroughbred Racing Industry Awards and Hall of Fame Dinner

The heroes of South Australia’s thoroughbred racing industry shone at Thoroughbred Racing SA’s annual Industry Awards and Hall of Fame induction at Morphettville Racecourse on Saturday, August 23.

The event was hosted by Sky Racing's Greg Radley and Radio TAB's Terry McAuliffe, with more than 450 guests gathering to recognise the achievements of the State’s top jockeys, apprentices, trainers, horses and the media.

Jason Holder, who had 316 rides this past season, was awarded the industry’s most prestigious honour – the John Letts Medal – which recognises excellence in riding and outstanding achievements at all race meetings throughout the State.

Close contender Dominic Tourneur took home the Glennon–Johnson Award for South Australian Metropolitan Jockey of the Year after racing strongly all year and clocking up 50 wins.

Other highlights of the evening included:

  • Young up-and-comer Caitlin Forrest was the only female winner on the night, taking home the TAFE SA South Australian Provincial and Country Apprentice Jockey of the Year.
  • Both the South Australian Provincial and Country Jockey of the Year and TattsBet South Australian Jockey of the Year went to Matthew Neilson.
  • Phillip Stokes took out both The Advertiser South Australian Metropolitan Trainer of the Year and the CS Hayes Award for South Australian Trainer of the Year.
  • Most Outstanding Achievement Award by a Club went to the Bordertown Racing Club.
  • Trainer Leon Macdonald and horse Maybe Mahal were both inducted into the Hall of Fame.

“The annual Industry Awards and Hall of Fame induction is an opportunity to recognise the hard work and outstanding achievements of some of South Australia’s past racing greats, current champions and future stars,” Thoroughbred Racing SA Chief Executive Jim Watters said. 

“Both Jason and Dominic are at the peak of their careers and their performances throughout the 2013-14 racing season quite outstanding.

“The people, the horses and the thrilling moments they incite are what make racing the unique sport it is, and it’s great to be able to celebrate them every year.    

“It was a special night that brought the entire industry together to engage in some friendly rivalry and honour the very best performers of the season.”

Click here for a full list of winners.

Click here to view a gallery of photo from the night.