Skip to Content

SA Racing Hall of Fame inductees announced

Popular horse Happy Trails, trailblazing administrator Frances Nelson and record-holding jumps jockey Robert ‘Bob’ Kingsford Cook are set to be inducted into the South Australian Racing Hall of Fame at a gala event this Saturday, August 28.

Held at Morphettville alongside Racing SA’s 2020/21 Industry Awards, the Hall of Fame ceremony will also induct the late John Henry Hill and arguably the most successful horse he trained – winner of the 1895 edition of the Melbourne Cup, Auraria.

The South Australian Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame is the highest of accolades awarded to both human and horse. It was established in 2001 to celebrate the achievements of the horses, jockeys, trainers and administrators who, through their dedication and contribution to thoroughbred racing, have become heroes of the turf. 

As well as commemorating champions of the past, Saturday night’s event will celebrate the outstanding performances of South Australian racing’s current human and equine champions across 14 award categories. This includes the esteemed John Letts Medal which recognises excellence in riding and outstanding achievements at all race meetings across South Australia during the season.

South Australian Racing Hall of Fame selection panel member Leon Macdonald thanked the inductees, their connections and families for their significant contributions to the industry.

“Induction into the Hall of Fame is South Australian racing’s ultimate achievement. The night provides an opportunity to formally recognise and honour both the horses and the people who have made an indelible mark on the thoroughbred industry,” Macdonald said.

“Due to COVID-19 there were no inductees in 2020, so we’re thrilled to be able to induct five extremely worthy participants at this year’s event.

“On behalf of the selection panel and the wider industry, congratulations to Frances, Bob, and John’s family, as well as the families and connections of our equine inductees Happy Trails and Auraria.”

The South Australian Racing Hall of Fame selection panel consists of Bruce McAvaney, Terry McAuliffe, Leon Macdonald, Adrian Hancock and the late David Thomas.

To see previous inductees, click here.

For more information on this year's inductees, click here.

Post categories

Racing SA - Latest News