Skip to Content


Welcome to Oakbank Racing Club! We have a rich history in the Adelaide Hills.  The club was established in 1875 and boasts one of the world’s largest picnic race meets, the Easter Racing Carnival, which has historically been held on Easter Saturday and Monday

In 2020 we are proud to launch Oakbank Week giving our patrons and the industry the opportunity to start new traditions trackside at Oakbank Racecourse.

During our racing calender, two of Australia’s premier hurdle and steeplechase races – the Harry D. Young Hurdle and the Great Eastern Steeplechase – attract thousands of racegoers and families from across the nation. It also features the Listed Hills Railway Stakes, which was established in 1877, and the Onkaparinga Cup, launched in 1976.

Our calendar has also been complemented with the Von Doussa Steeplechase, hosted on the Sunday leading up to Easter Saturday.

In 2020, Oakbank Racing Club will begin a new tradition with the launch of Oakbank Week. Patrons will experience the same historic race events for which Oakbank has become renowned, but across three separate days – April 5, 8 and 11. Patrons will be able to celebrate our traditional Easter Carnival while still enjoying the long weekend with your loved ones.

Oakbank Week adds a unique flavour to country racing with lavish picnics, family atmosphere, entertainment and fashions on the field. Local Adelaide Hills food and wine producers will also be on display, giving you a taste of the region.

Start a new tradition with Oakbank Week in 2020. 

Racing History

The first horse to win the Great Eastern Steeplechase around the undulating hills course was Tormentor in 1876. There are photographs and memorabilia of the win around the club.

Many great horses have followed Tormentor’s success on the 4.9km course over the years, including Darkie (1877 and 1878), Trigger (1881 and 1884), Swordfish (1885 and 1887), Vanguard (1912 and 1914), Tramp (1913 and 1915), Mount Cooper (1926 and 1927), Club Spirit (1972 and 1974) and Light Hand (1995 and 1996).

Oakbank has also played host to some of the best riders in the country, including Laurie Meenan, Alex Fullarton, Jamie Evans, Mick Patton, Brian Robert Smith, Pug McKenzie, Bluey Armsden, Don Wraight, Tom Glennon and James Scobie who have all etched their names to the Great Eastern honour roll.

Your Committee

Chairman: Arabella Branson
Deputy Chairman: Barney Gask
Committee: Mark Angus, Chris Dittmar, John Glatz OAM, Roma Williams, Trent Shortland, Andrew Watson, Stephen Charlton
CEO: Stephen Whittall

For Terms and Conditions of entry to the Oakbank Week click here.

Annual Report

Download a copy of the 2019 Oakbank Racing Club Annual Report here

For previous Annual Reports, please email

Download a copy of the Oakbank Racing Club Constitution here.

Contact Us

Oakbank Racing Club is nestled amongst the leafy green landscapes of the Adelaide Hills. 

46 Oakwood Road, Oakbank SA 5243.

Postal Address
PO Box 26, Oakbank SA 5243

If you wish to contact us via telephone, our number is 08 8388 4072 or email us at

Media Contact

For all the latest news and access to media releases, vist our Facebook page.

All media enquiries should be made directly to The Press Gallery on the below details:

Sarah Coligan on 0404 003 061 or
Sarah Rohweder on 0456 885 528 or

Sign up for Oakbank enews!

I'm interested in:

Oakbank Partners