Skip to Content

Big Name Gallopers Headline Balaklava Cup Nominations

Some big name gallopers from the Tony McEvoy, Ryan Balfour, Darren Weir and Will Clarken stables headline Wednesday’s Listed Balaklava Cup nominations.

McEvoy won the Cup in 2014 with Longshoreman and has nominated Brown Ben and Kourkam for Wednesday’s feature. Brown Ben was an impressive last start winner at Morphettville over the 1400m while Kourkam won this year’s Oakbank Cup before finishing ninth in the Group 3 RA Lee Stakes over 1600m.

Balf’s Choice has been set for the Balaklava Cup for some time and notched up four wins in a row at Morphettville before finishing fifth in his last start a fortnight ago, carrying 60kgs.

The interstate raiders will be led by Darren Weir who has nominated the promising Chocolate Holic for the Cup. The gelding has been a recent addition to the stable since coming over from Western Australia. He has a Listed Northam Cup to his name over 1600m, the same distance as Wednesday’s feature. Weir has also nominated Group 2 winner Guardini and Listed winner Raw Impulse.

Here to There from the Ciaron Maher stable will be looking to make it three wins on the trot in the feature after recording two strong victories across the border in August.

In-form trainer Will Clarken has the Group 3 Spring Stakes winner Mio Dio nominated along with his stable’s new acquisition and last start winner Steel Frost.  

The Brian Mueller trained Little Akie will be looking to go back to back after taking out last year’s rain affected feature, while By The Grace, Riziz, Victory Downs and Jim’s Journey are back for another crack at the Cup after running in last year’s edition.  

The promising Lord Aspen has been the bridesmaid in his last two starts in the Spring Stakes and Penny Edition and will be looking to go one better on Wednesday.

Click here to see the full list of nominations

Post categories